I’ve read a lot more websites and journal articles and am none the wiser, just more confused.  Many of the opponents of the diet heart thesis appear to be cranks or doctors with private practice and their own string of supplements to push. Others seem genuine.  The NHS Choices website sounds vaguely sceptical about Statins – or at least doesn’t push them.I’m going back to taking them for now though because there does seem such a  lot of evidence that they are helpful for people who’ve already had heart disease and that LDL is implicated in atherosclerosis.  However, I plan to collect some key articles and discuss it with Dr Paton.  GIven that my cholesterol is not terribly high (in fact it’s in what Kendrick sees as the ideal range) and that the heart disease is minor, I do wonder why I’m taking these powerful drugs.

